January 27, 2010
Coach Barn Closed for Painting
The Arboretum’s Coach Barn is closed until the end of March for painting. However, rainy weather may influence the schedule of our reopening.
The barn is due for painting, as could be readily seen on its south side which gets the most exposure to the sun and weather.
In December of 2009 work began on the barn. Loose paint was removed by hand scraping followed by light sanding and filling. While the original plan was for scaffolding to be erected around the tower, the logistics proved impractical and the work is being done with a hydraulic hoist.
As of early January a layer of primer has been applied and the barn is already looking quite stunning. With a full coat of paint and fresh red trim the barn will be returned to its full Victorian splendor!
Visitors and staff have been commenting on its appearance favorably even now, we look forward to welcoming visitors again in March.
The Arboretum’s Coach Barn was constructed in 1879 by architect Albert Austin Bennett for Elias J. “Lucky” Baldwin.
The Coach Barn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.